The Truth About Puppuccinos

Sara Starkman
2 min readApr 12, 2023

So, a few weeks ago, I got all in a huff about Starbucks Puppuccinos and posted the ingredients on a quick story on Instagram. But now with a little time I’ve circled back to my upset and realized that it’s important I give this subject a little more air time because I think giving people real knowledge that empowers them to be a better pet parent is a huge and vital piece of my job. And that’s going to require a little more information and of, course, a cute infographic to share.

The reason puppuccinos are such a bugaboo of mine is because they seem innocuous- just a bit of whipped cream as a sweet treat that makes this multi-billion dollar corporation that is Starbucks appear to “care” about your dog. And you! And it’s a lie- A LIE I TELL YOU *shreds cardboard with teeth next to Opie*

It also anthropomorphizes dogs in all the wrong ways. We’re supposed to think of dogs like humans when it comes to being mindful of their needs for stress management, whole foods and moderate exercise. Not when it gives them a Starbucks habit!

I also think it’s a real nod towards how far removed we’ve come from our food system. If Starbucks was actually using whipped pastured cream (single ingredient) from a mixing bowl, a little dollop could totally be a consistent treat your dog could even benefit from (assuming they have no previous known gastrointestinal issues). But instead, its just a collection of multiple known carcinogens. Like, what the fuck is E147? Which I think begs the question, why is this how I choose to reward my dog? Or show them love?

For a long time, I think we’ve been conditioned to reward ourselves, our children and our pets by consuming things that are, essentially, poison. We drink a bottle of wine to ourselves to celebrate this or that, we take our kids to Mcdonalds for winning their soccer game, we give our dogs Tim Bits and puppuccinos after the vet (ironic, eh?). The only treat I can find in this type of behaviour, when I really boil it down, is in the word that describes it for what it is- mistreatment.

And this isn’t to point fingers at anyone. We’re all, as a society, culpable for this behaviour and the lack of mindfulness around it. But I think it’s also our duty to do better once we know better.

I hope this helps you look at rewarding or showing your dog (or yourself) love in a new light. And remember, Starbucks also sells bananas, which I bet would get a similarly excitable response as a blob of “whipped cream”. Choose wisely friends. And don’t forget to share this info wherever you can.

--

--